The Village NEWS stood its ground at the annual awards evening of the Forum of Community Journalists held last week in Pretoria. In one of the toughest competitions to date, with community newspapers from around the country taking part, Elaine Davie was named the winner in the writing category, Human Interest. Taylum Meyer was awarded second place in the General Photography category, while our humour columnist, Murray Stewart also came second in the Column of the Year category. Hedda Mittner and De Waal Steyn were finalists in respectively the Column of the Year and Editorial Comment of the Year categories. Murray was also a finalist for Headline of the Year. The Village NEWS distinguished itself by achieving third place for Front Page of the Year and was the runner-up in the coveted Independent Newspaper of the Year award. At the back, from left are Murray, Hedda, De Waal and Nickey Jackson (DTP designer). In front are The Village NEWS’s youngest and oldest stars, Taylum and Elaine.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of